In January 2026, a patient died while enrolled in Ambio Life Sciences' Detoxification Program at its Tijuana, Mexico clinic. Ambio disclosed the death publicly in a January 21, 2026 blog post but withheld the patient's identity and cause of death, citing privacy. The company cited the rising danger of fentanyl-adulterated street drugs and announced protocol changes, including a mandatory minimum 21-day stay for patients who had recently used fentanyl.
Ambio Life Sciences, a Tijuana/Rosarito-area ibogaine provider founded in 2021 and widely described in trade press as one of the larger, more clinically established providers in the field (over 100 staff, cited EKG/lab-based screening protocols), published a statement on its own blog on January 21, 2026 titled "Patient Safety, Transparency, and Revisions to Detox Protocols." The statement read in part: "We are deeply saddened to report that a patient recently passed away while participating in Ambio's Detoxification Program. With our deepest respect for the privacy of our patient and their family, we will not discuss details of this incident publicly."
Ambio did not disclose the patient's name, age, sex, nationality, or a specific medical cause of death. The statement attributed heightened risk generally to "the increasing number of dangerous, unknown, and ever-changing adulterants in the global supply of street fentanyl," without confirming fentanyl as the specific cause in this case.
In response, Ambio announced it would implement "enhanced screening protocols, longer program durations for detox patients, and a minimum 21-day stay for anyone consuming fentanyl prior to treatment," acknowledging this would make treatment "less financially accessible for some candidates."
Psychedelics Today published an analysis of the incident on February 2, 2026, noting that key facts remained publicly unconfirmed, that Ambio's acknowledgment of the death (rather than staying silent, which the piece says is common in the field) was comparatively transparent, and that the broader ibogaine field lacks any shared, protected mechanism for providers to report and learn from adverse events across clinics. Rolling Stone also referenced the death in an April 2026 feature, noting it occurred "as I was writing this article."
Medscape reported in May 2026 that the same Ambio Mexico clinic that experienced this death was separately the site of unrelated psychiatric-indication (MISTIC) research participants being treated, though the deceased patient was specifically enrolled in Ambio's separate substance-use detoxification program, not the research study.
No coroner's report, death certificate, or government investigation outcome has been publicly reported for this case as of this writing. This entry will be updated if official findings become public.
Investigation & Causality
Substance Reported
Ibogaine (detoxification program); Ambio's statement noted general risk from fentanyl-adulterated street drugs without confirming fentanyl in this specific case
Exposure Context
Medical clinic
Ibogaine Causality
Unknown / not reported
Investigation Outcome
No official investigation outcome has been publicly reported. Ambio did not disclose a specific cause of death, citing patient privacy.
Case Details
Cause of Death (as first reported)
Not disclosed by Ambio, citing patient privacy. Ambio's public statement pointed to the increasing danger of fentanyl-adulterated street drugs as a contributing risk factor in its Detoxification Program generally, without confirming a specific cause for this patient.
Sources
Official clinic statementJan 21, 2026
Patient Safety, Transparency, and Revisions to Detox ProtocolsAmbio Life Sciences
“Ambio's own public statement disclosing a patient death in its Detoxification Program, without identifying the patient or confirmed cause, and announcing protocol changes including a mandatory 21-day minimum stay for recent fentanyl users.”